Spooky Story…Just for Grown-Ups

It came from IKEA

“Lets go to IKEA.” That’s how it started. IKEA, home of low prices, bright colors, Swedish meatballs, and an unspeakable evil that awaited us. My family decided to take a quick trek out to IKEA. Lunch and naptime were looming ahead, but we figured we’d be in and out fast, 30 minutes, top. Besides, I had restocked the diaper bag with some snacks before we left, just in case. What could possibly go wrong?

We were halfway through the store when I noticed it. Sniff-sniff. “Do you smell that?” “No,” replied my husband. We continued walking. Around this time my daughter started to wiggle and fuss in my arms. “Its o.k. honey, we’re almost done and we have crackers in the car to snack on until we get home. Won’t that be yummy?” We quickened our pace, sensing a meltdown if we didn’t get to those crackers pronto.

Again I was struck by the potent aroma. Sniff-sniff “What is that smell?!”  Looking around for the source I was met by a face beaming up at me with the sudden realization; my bundle of joy had just made a bundle of joy.  “Can you get the diaper bag out of the car?” That’s when it happened. “What, I thought you brought the diaper bag?!” We were stuck at IKEA with no diapers, no snacks and a fussy, poopy child! Nooooo!!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Tara
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 22:03:40

    Ohh nooooo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

